Grocery haul from Whole Foods

Romaine lettuce, kale, red onion, mangoes, bananas, pears, avocados, butternut squash, raspberries, black plums, carrots, sugar snap peas

Normally on Mondays my “fiance” (it is so weird saying it 😀 ) has flag football with his co-workers who then play other companies. (what a bore..) I usually never go but yesterday I decided to go grocery shopping while he was at the game. The park where they play flag football is only 2 minutes away from Whole Foods, so why not get grocery shopping out of the way.

I also decided I would take Cas grocery shopping with me. Now you might be wondering why I even mentioned that, a lot of moms take their babies grocery shopping. Well I have a special baby who hates, no more like loathes the car seat. I normally have to have someone else come with me when I go grocery shopping with Cas. So, to make things easier for me  I decided to use the Ergo wrap. It was given to us as a gift and I have found that it is a lifesaver! Cas really likes it and while I was shopping at Whole Foods he took a little nap in it.

I have gone to Whole Foods before but only to get things I couldn’t find in H-E-B or to get something to eat since I used to work in the same shopping center. Yesterday I decided just to go ahead and get everything I needed there. It was interesting, in a good way. I really liked that they had loose carrots! My fiance thought I was being weird that I was super happy to find loose carrots. When I usually buy carrots, they come in a bag but I usually never use more than 2 or 3 carrots. So I never buy any but at Whole foods I picked up a few carrots. I’ll probably use some for salads and steam the rest. I’m planning on steaming 1 or 2 and make them into baby food for Cas. (oh yeah, I’m going to start making some baby food) I also really liked that they had a lot of vegetables to choose from that you can’t normally find.  For example, leeks, I can never find them in supermarkets.

steel cut oats, green lentils, fruit and nut mix, tazo passion tea, naked green machine juices (the fiance is obsessed with these), walnuts, stash hibiscus tea, strawberry rolls (first time buying them)

I also bought a few random items, like the Tazo teas and Naked juices. My fiance really likes the juices and the reason is because sometimes he is really tired at work but doesn’t have time to eat so he will drink one of these instead of an energy drink.

You might notice I didn’t buy any meat. We already have chicken and tilapia at home so I didn’t feel the need to buy anymore. Honestly, I hate beef and my fiance and I have been really bad about not eating at home. Which has to stop! I am also trying this vegetarian diet as of today, lol. I can do it but my fiance’s family is Mexican and man is it hard to be a vegetarian around really good food!

Ella’s kitchen baby food, happy baby puffs in strawberry (they were out of apple), multi-grain cereal, teething biscuits, earth’s best baby food

I also picked up a few items for Cas. I didn’t buy very many since I will be experimenting with homemade baby food this week. I got him some more puffs which he has gotten really good at chewing and I also got him teething biscuits for his chewing-on-everything-frenzy!

yummy salads

It might not seem like a lot of food but my fiance and I have this problem where we buy a lot of food and then we don’t eat it. This will not be the case this time! I will use every item I bought this week!  I have started by preparing salads for 2-3 days. I will also make some of the beans and rice I have in advance so I can just grab some to make meals throughout the week.

Overall, I really liked shopping for groceries at Whole Foods. It is really hard to buy bad food since there wasn’t any Hershey’s chocolates in the check out area for me to buy. It wasn’t as crowded as other supermarkets I have gone to and the selection on vegetables is awesome!

Leave a Reply

